You may request to have your citation dismissed by completing a Drivers Safety Course approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). The request must be made in person, online or by certified mail. Upon successful completion of the Drivers Safety Course, payment of fees, and complying with all terms, your citation will be dismissed and there will be no conviction entered.
PLEASE CONTACT MUNICIPAL COURT FOR APPROVAL PRIOR TO COMPLETING ANY OF THESE STEPS.
To be eligible for Defensive Driving, the following requirements must be met
- Must not have completed Defensive Driving Course to dismiss a citation within the last 12 months or be in the process of taking the course for another traffic violation.
- A speeding violation must not exceed 24 MPH over the posted speed limit.
- Must be at least 16 years old.
- Must possess a valid Texas driver's license or military ID (that is not classified as a commercial drivers license CDL)
- Must present current personal proof of liability insurance in your name or listing your name as a covered driver.
- Submit request either in person or by certified mail within 10 calendar days from the date the citation was issued. Requests submitted after the 10th day must require judicial approval.
- Violation did not occur in a construction zone with workers present.
- Violation did not occur while passing a school bus.
If you meet the above requirements, you may request to take a Driver Safety Course, by certified mail, online or in person, before the 10th calendar day from the date of the citation. You may also request to take a Driving Safety Course when you pay your citation online. If you meet the above mentioned qualifications, the Insite program will give you an option to follow the directed steps. (Please contact Municipal Court to verify your eligibility prior to doing this or by mail.) A notarized statement must be presented declaring your eligibility with a copy of your driver's license and insurance card, along with the payment of the required fees, of which will be given to you when you contact the Court.
NOTICE: Because of the pandemic outbreak, the Court is waiving the requirement to have the form notarized. If you meet the above qualifications, please print the form and return to the court by mail or email to email@example.com. You are now able to pay the $144 fee online.
Ineligible Offenses (See Article 45.051 C.C.P.)
Request for Drivers Safety Course by mail will not be accepted for:
- 25 miles or more over the posted speed limit
- Offenses by defendant who holds a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
- Passing a school bus
- Any traffic violation that occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- Any juvenile case (must appear in person with parent or legal guardian)
- Class C misdemeanor of assault, theft, or reckless damage offenses
- Out of State Driver's License
- Out of State Driver's Safety Course
If requesting by CERTIFIED MAIL, please submit the following documents
- Plea of "guilty" or "no contest" as found on the reverse side of your citation
- Written request for Driver Safety Course via Certified Mail, return receipt requested, postmarked on or before the 10th day from the date the citation was issued. Request must be notarized.
- A certified copy of your driving record (Type 3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- A copy of your valid Texas driver's license
- A copy of your proof of current personal liability insurance or valid evidence of financial responsibility
- A cashier's check or money order for the amount of the required Court Costs; you will need to call Municipal Court for the amount.
Once it has been approved, you will be sent a notice from the Municipal Court with specific instruction on how to proceed.
Once you receive approval to take Defensive Driving, you must go online and request a copy of your driving record. We have provided a copy of their form on our website. You will need to get the certified copy, option 3A. You have 90 days to submit the information to the Court as provided by the State.
If requesting in PERSON, please be prepared to present the following documents and payment
- Your plea of "guilty" or "no contest"
- Your valid Texas driver's license
- Your proof of current personal liability insurance or valid evidence of financial responsibility
- Payment of Court costs
You will have 90 days to successfully complete an approved driving safety course: either online, by video found at libraries, or attending an approved class.
If the driving safety course is completed within 90 days, the misdemeanor charge will be dismissed and the Court will report to the Department of Public Safety the completion of the course for inclusion on your driving record. The fine associated with the violation will be waived.
If requesting ONLINE, go to https://www.municipalonlinepayments.com/andrewstx
Items to submit back to the Court
- Certificate of Completion (you MUST submit the "Court Copy"). It must be signed to be valid.
- Certified copy of your driving record (Type 3A)
If you fail to complete the course within 90 days and do not provide evidence of completion within 120 days, the Court will require you to appear in Court for a Show Cause Hearing. If you do not appear for the hearing, the Court will impose the fine and issue a warrant for your arrest.
Special Note: You should not take the course or request your driving record until you have received written approval from Municipal Court.